Skip to content
EntityQ7538872· pop 5· linked from 191 articles

Also known as Àth na Sglèata

thumb|Slateford railway station|Slateford station Slateford () is an area of Edinburgh, the capital of Scotland. It is east of the Water of Leith.

~3 min read

Encyclopedic overview

5 sections
Contents
  • Rail transport
  • Bus transport
  • Notable people
  • References
  • External links

thumb|Slateford railway station|Slateford station Slateford () is an area of Edinburgh, the capital of Scotland. It is east of the Water of Leith.

The former village of Slateford lies on the Lanark Road where it crosses the Water of Leith, south west of Slateford Station. The name "Slateford" comes from local rock found in the area and the old fording point on the Water of Leith that the village grew round. In 1882 it had a post office with money order savings bank and telegraph departments, a police station, a Good Templars Hall, School, U.P. Church and the extensive bleachfields of Inglis Green. The village was crossed by the Union Canal Slateford Aqueduct in 1822 and a few years later the 14-arch viaduct carrying the Caledonian railway line. The situe of the Canal, Road and Rail bridges capture all three modes of transport together still to this day. In 1952 and later in 1967 major road widening projects removed all but a few of the original cottages, though Slateford House, School (Now the headquarters and visitor centre for the Water of Leith conservation trust), and Church (used as a warehouse) still stand today.

Excerpted from Wikipedia’s “Slateford” article, available under the CC BY-SA 4.0 licence.

On the map

2 mapped locations

Available in 4 languages

via Wikidata sitelinks · CC0