Skip to content
Llwydcoed
EntityQ6662903· pop 13· linked from 166 articles

Llwydcoed is a small village and community north of the Cwm Cynon, near the town of Aberdare, Rhondda Cynon Taf, Wales, with a population of 1,302 as of 2011 census.

Weather now

cached 1198h ago
16°overcast clouds
87% 1.8 m/s OpenWeatherMap

Place details

Locality
Llwydcoed
Region
Cymru / Wales
Country
United Kingdom
Population
0

via OpenStreetMap · GeoNames

Key facts

UK place.country
Wales
UK place.static_image_name
View from Llwydcoed towards Hirwaun March 2006.jpg
UK place.static_image_width
250
UK place.static_image_caption
View from Llwydcoed towards Hirwaun
UK place.official_name
Llwydcoed
UK place.unitary_wales
Rhondda Cynon Taf
UK place.lieutenancy_wales
Mid Glamorgan
UK place.constituency_welsh_assembly
Cynon Valley
UK place.constituency_westminster
Merthyr Tydfil and Aberdare
UK place.post_town
ABERDARE
UK place.postcode_district
CF44
UK place.postcode_area
CF
UK place.population
1,300

via Wikipedia infobox

~4 min read

Encyclopedic overview

9 sections
Contents
  • History
  • Industry
  • Government
  • Transport
  • Landmarks
  • Notable people
  • References
  • Bibliography
  • External links

Llwydcoed is a small village and community north of the Cwm Cynon, near the town of Aberdare, Rhondda Cynon Taf, Wales, with a population of 1,302 as of 2011 census.

==History== The village initially developed in the Tregibbon area, where in 1801 workers' housing was built by Thomas ap Shencin ap Gibbon of Fforchaman Farm. Other early housing was built at Miner's Row, Founder's Row and Scales Houses. The names of these streets betray their early origins; the Scale family were among the founders of the works and remained partners until 1846. thumb|left|Red Cow Pub In the second half of the 19th century a new period of growth was instigated by the development of the coal industry in the area. Matthew Wayne Esq. of the Gadlys Ironworks opened the Dyllas Colliery in 1840 and in 1849 Ysguborwen Colliery was sunk by Samuel Thomas and Thomas Joseph. Among the houses built in this period were those at Moriah Place, Horeb Terrace and Grey's Place. Exhibition Row was built in 1851 and was named Exhibition Row in honour of the Great Exhibition held at Crystal Palace that year.

Excerpted from Wikipedia’s “Llwydcoed” article, available under the CC BY-SA 4.0 licence.

Gallery (2)

On the map

2 mapped locations