Skip to content
Osceola

Image by iKHutchi on Pixabay · Pixabay License

EntityQ7106362· pop 11· linked from 65 articles

township in Polk County, Wisconsin

Official website

The first recorded inhabitants of this area were the American Indians. Sioux Indians lived in small bands, staying in one place for only a couple weeks. The Chippewa Indians moved into the area and chased the Sioux south and west. Also, there were explorers and trappers that moved through the area about that time. In April of 1836, the federal government established the Territory of Wisconsin. It included lands that are now Wisconsin, Iowa, Minnesota and parts of the Dakotas. The next year, 1837, the federal government signed a treaty with the Sioux and Chippewa Indians. They were given about $9,000 and the rights to hunt, fish, trap and collect maple sap. The treaty was not honored very well, but did allow the movement of European people into the region. The territorial headquarters were in Prairie du Chein. Wisconsin became a state in 1848 by an act of the United States Congress. They established St. Croix County that included lands that later became Pierce County, St. Croix County, Polk County and part of Burnet County. This large territory was divided by the territorial legislature into those counties and Polk County was established in 1853. The Wisconsin Constitution was written at statehood and established the basis for the formation of the towns and villages. At a Town Board meeting on March 30, 1859 the name Town of Osceola was first used. No explanation for the name change to Osceola given. The name Osceola was used to honor a Seminole Indian Chief by that name. Chief Osceola had been wronged by the army, which irritated many local people. Meetings in the early days were held in schools, homes of free holders and the Polk County Court House in Osceola. Polk County was organized in 1853 and named after President Polk. The settlement of Osceola was selected as the county seat even though it was not incorporated at the time. An election held in the fall of 1898 moved the county seat to Balsam Lake, the geographical center of Polk County. The Village of Osceola was incorporated on July 13, 1886. The Town of LeRoy owned a town hall in the village and both the village and town used this building. The town sold the building to the village on July 15, 1889 for $200. . The Plan Commission was established by ordinance (1-01) December 7, 1997. The first Comprehensive Plan was adopted on March 9, 1998. The most recent Comprehensive Plan was adopted on October 5th, 2009. Chapter 18 of the code of ordinance was adopted on March 8, 1999, and revised in 2001. This ordinance regulated subdivisions and the platting of land. It was in place before the big housing developments started and was very instrumental in keeping those developments orderly. Ordinance (01-01-01) adopted on January 8, 2001 included several things. It provided for a Town Building Inspector. It outlined a contract describing the duties and responsibilities of the Building Inspector. It made provisions for issuing building permits and the fees to be collected. And finally, it adopted the Wisconsin Uniform Dwelling Code with all of it amendments. Again on January 8, 2001 the Town Board passed an Ordinance (01-02-02) that adopted the Wisconsin Commercial Building Code. The first Building Inspector hired was Clifford Manwiller, also on January 8, 2001. The annual meeting of April 16, 1994 combined the offices of Clerk and Treasurer. It was an elected position at this time. The Town Board by ordinance changed it to an appointed position effective April 7, 2003. The Town of Osceola has a history of cooperation with other municipalities. At the April 7, 1959 annual meeting a motion was made, seconded and carried that the Town join with the Town of Garfield and The Village of Dresser to form an organization for fire protection. This process was completed April 1, 1960 and The Osceola, Garfield, Dresser Fire Association was established. A second joint cooperative venture occurred in May 1976 when the contract was signed to establish an ambulance service. The Village of

Read more on their site →

Excerpt from the official site · 5,367 chars · not written by Vinony

On the map

2 mapped locations