Neunforn
Sign in to saveAlso known as Neunforn TG
Neunforn is a municipality in the district of Frauenfeld in the canton of Thurgau in Switzerland.
Key facts
- Swiss town.subject_name
- Neunforn
- Swiss town.municipality_type
- municipality
- Swiss town.image_photo
- 2015-04-23-Neunforn (Foto Dietrich Michael Weidmann) (19).JPG
- Swiss town.image_caption
- The old school house in Fahrhof
- Swiss town.imagepath_coa
- Neunforn-blazon.svg
- Swiss town.canton
- Thurgau
- Swiss town.iso code region
- CH-TG
- Swiss town.district
- Frauenfeld
- Swiss town.postal_code
- 8525
- Swiss town.municipality_code
- 4601
- Swiss town.area
- 11.36
- Swiss town.elevation
- 460
- Swiss town.population
- 933
- Swiss town.populationof
- December 2007
- Swiss town.popofyear
- 2007
- Swiss town.website
- www.neunforn.ch
- Swiss town.places
- Niederneunforn, Oberneunforn, Wilen bei Neunforn
- Swiss town.neighboring_municipalities
- Altikon (ZH), Hüttwilen, Oberstammheim (ZH), Ossingen (ZH), Thalheim an der Thur (ZH), Uesslingen-Buch, Waltalingen (ZH)
via Wikipedia infobox
Official website
| Gemeindeverwaltung Neunforn
neunforn.ch →Link to the official site · 8,082 chars · not written by Vinony
~9 min read
Encyclopedic overview
8 sectionsContents
- History
- Geography
- Demographics
- Heritage sites of national significance
- Economy
- Religion
- Education
- References
Neunforn is a municipality in the district of Frauenfeld in the canton of Thurgau in Switzerland.
==History== Neunforn is first mentioned in 962 as Niuvora. In 963 a court was mentioned in the village. The Freiherr of Teufen sold his property in Neunforn to Töss Monastery in 1250. The high and low courts in Niederneunforn were merged in 1500 and in 1554 both courts were acquired by Stokar from Schaffhausen. From 1694 until 1798 the courts were owned by Zurich. The parish included Oberneunforn, Niederneunforn, Wilen and Burghof. In 1265, the parish was given as a donation to Töss Monastery, and was incorporated into the abbey in 1291. The Reformation reached and converted Neunforn in 1525. During the Protestant Reformation, Zurich closed Töss Monastery and took over the parish rights in Neunforn. Zurich retained the right to appoint the preacher in the parish until 1843.
Excerpted from Wikipedia’s “Neunforn” article, available under the CC BY-SA 4.0 licence.
Gallery (3)
On the map
2 mapped locations